top of page
Pitter Patter

SCHOOLS

TOGETHER WE MAKE EDUCATION POSSIBLE

Our partner schools are located in Dunoon, a township near Cape Town. Due to the poor social situation, there is an urgent need for educational facilities for the children in Dunoon to get them off the streets. The few schools that exist struggle with poor infrastructure conditions, a lack of school materials and non-existent hygiene standards. We look for schools that have exactly these problems and get in touch with them and visit them in Dunoon to get to know the principals and their stories.

 

Together, we look at the challenges and make a plan as to how and when the renovation can take place and within what framework it should be implemented.

We accompany our partner schools on their way to public registration by creating the necessary school infrastructure and building a home for the principals and their families.

 

We are currently working with two schools:

PITTER PATTER

IMG_0383.JPG

I am Chantel and I have lived in Dunoon since I was 18 years old. In 2016 I founded Pitter Patter Educare. With Pitter Patter, I want to avoid children being on the streets and having to grow up the same way I did back then. However, I quickly realized that these children need much more than just a safe place to stay. I completed a pedagogical training to teach the children and to be a surrogate mom to them.

My purpose is to have a lasting positive impact on the children’s life. I am in constant exchange with the parents to stay updated about their troubles and life situation as well. I also desire to have a positive impact on the Dunoon community.I have made this my mission in life.

I have made this my life's mission.

IMG_0382.JPG
IMG_0356_edited.png
IMG_0351.jpeg

ZAMA EDUCARE

IMG_1336.jpeg

I am Thulani and I opened Zama Educare in January 2011 with only one child.  At that time, I was only using my own room. Over time, I took care of more than 25 children, and the Office of Social Development asked me to enroll and complete trainings. I decided to go back to school and learn more about early childhood development. I completed my courses at the College of Cape Town up to level 5. The reason why I decided to take care of these little angels is because of the way I grew up myself. I don’t want these children to have to experience a difficult childhood.
 

Currently I have 4 teachers, 1 cook and 50 children coming to my school every day. Until today I do not receive any financial support and I survive with the help of other colleagues or Educare Centers.

The reason why I decided to take care of these little angels is because of the way I grew up myself. I don't want these children to experience a difficult childhood.

I am willing to take any risk as long as it enables me to help them.

e76429fb-2f20-48fa-ae0d-f9b2f794e174.JPG
CHILDREN ZAMA
CHILDREN Zama
bottom of page

top of page
Pitter Patter

SCHULEN

GEMEINSAM BAUEN WIR EIN SICHERES LERNUMFELD

Unsere Partnerschulen liegen in Dunoon, einem Township in der Nähe von Kapstadt. Aufgrund der schlechten gesellschaftlichen Lage besteht ein dringender Bedarf an Bildungseinrichtungen, um die Kinder von der Strasse zu holen. Die wenigen Schulen die es gibt, kämpfen mit schlechten Infrastrukturbedingungen, zu wenig Schulmaterialien und nicht bestehenden Hygienestandards. Wir nehmen mit den Schulleiterinnen Kontakt auf, die genau diese Probleme haben und besuchen sie vor Ort, um sie und ihre Geschichte kennen zu lernen.

Gemeinsam erarbeiten wir einen Plan, wie und wann das bestehende Gebäude umgebaut werden kann. Wir finanzieren einerseits den Umbau der Schulen, aber tragen gleichzeitig dazu bei, dass die Schulleiterinnen und ihre Familien ein neues Zuhause haben. Wir begleiten sie schliesslich auf dem Weg zur öffentlichen Registrierung, damit sie finanzielle Unterstützung durch den Staat erhalten.

Aktuell arbeiten wir mit zwei Schulen zusammen:

PITTER PATTER

Chantelle PP und Irina Schreiber

Ich bin Chantel und lebe seit ich 18 Jahre alt bin in Dunoon. Im Jahre 2016 habe ich Pitter Patter Educare gegründet. Mit Pitter Patter möchte ich vermeiden, dass die Kinder auf der Strasse, gleich aufwachsen müssen wie ich damals. Mir wurde jedoch schnell klar, dass diese Kinder viel mehr als nur einen sicheren Aufenthaltsort brauchen. Ich absolvierte eine pädagogische Ausbildung, um die Kinder zu unterrichten und ihnen als Zweitmama zur Seite zu stehen.

Mein Ziel ist, das Leben der Kinder nachhaltig positiv zu beeinflussen. Ich bin in ständigem Austausch mit den Eltern, um auch über deren Probleme und Lebenssituation informiert zu bleiben. Ich möchte auch einen positiven Einfluss auf die Gemeinschaft von Dunoon haben.

Dies habe ich mir zu meiner Lebensaufgabe gemacht.

Kinder Pitter Patter
Kinder Pitter Patter
Kinder Pitter Patter

ZAMA EDUCARE

Thulani Zama und Irina Schreiber

Ich bin Thulani und habe Zama Educare im Januar 2011 mit nur einem Kind eröffnet.  Zu diesem Zeitpunkt nutzte ich einzig mein Zimmer. Mit der Zeit kümmerte ich mich um mehr als 25 Kinder, und das Amt für soziale Entwicklung forderte mich auf, mich anzumelden und Schulungen zu absolvieren. Ich beschloss, wieder zur Schule zu gehen und mehr über frühkindliche Entwicklung zu lernen. Ich habe meine Kurse am College of Cape Town bis zur Stufe 5 abgeschlossen.

Zurzeit habe ich 4 Lehrer, 1 Koch und 50 Kinder, die jeden Tag in meine Schule kommen. Bis heute erhalte ich keine finanzielle Unterstützung und überlebe mit der Hilfe von anderen Kollegen oder Educare Centern.

Der Grund, warum ich mich entschlossen habe, mich um diese kleinen Engel zu kümmern, ist die Art und Weise, wie ich selber aufgewachsen bin. Ich möchte nicht, dass diese Kinder eine schwierige Kindheit erleben müssen.

Ich bin bereit, jedes Risiko einzugehen, solange ich ihnen damit helfen kann.

Kinder Zama
Kinder Zama
Kinder Zama
bottom of page